FoodRadical. Getting Radical. Reflection. Change.

It has been a good, long time since my last post, hasn’t it?  A year has ended and new beginnings are upon us.  Today marks one year of living in my amazing “nest above the city”.  I am hoping this year is bringing you all continued peace and happiness as we make our way into 2016.

2015 was an amazing year.  It was my “bucket list” year.  Do you have a bucket list?  I’ve had a mental one for years.  Some of the things on that list are grandiose like taking a trip to Ireland, which I did a few years ago.  That was such a great one, I plan on checking it off twice!!  There are small things too, but desirable enough to earn a spot on my list, like make friends with a mechanic.  I did just that this past year!  In fact, I now have two!  I feel silly happy that I got to check off several “bucket list” achievements in 2015.  It put a little pep in my step each time!

My last post, Be Kind. Eat Kind. My Kind of “Kind” Bar I hinted at stressful times. Another one of my bucket list goals was to buy a new truck.  I did buy a truck only to wreck it hours later in a chain reaction six car accident on one of our local highways.  It was a horrible rainy night and there were many accidents throughout the city.  I honestly do not know how I walked away unscathed.  My arms were a bit sore, I imagine from my steering wheel death grip.  Otherwise, no injuries at all and for that I am truly grateful.  Other drivers in that mess were not as fortunate.  My truck got it good, but it is now fixed, looking new again and driving fine, thanks in part to my new friend!

I got a new addition to my household in 2015.  Isn’t she adorable!?  Getting a dog was not really on my bucket list, but I have wanted one for several years.  This sweet thing came to me a few months ago and has quickly worked her way into my heart.  She’s perfect.

20151108_160604

Got my rain coat & I’m ready to ride!

After eleven years of working in a different career I accepted an amazing new job back in my degree field of social work  in 2015.  It is a job that suits me perfectly.  I have found what feels very much like the dream job I have desired in my mind for years.  Pretty cool, right?!  My job satisfies my need for a creative outlet and immerses me in the kind of work that gives me such passion.  I completely love my job even when I have had a day from hell.  I wake up every morning excited to start my day.  This job keeps me very busy and as a result, I have far less creative energy or time for my blogging.  Finding the sweet dance that balances my mind, body and spirit is my daily challenge.

Although you have not seen posts recently, I have been working “behind the scenes” to change up my blog a bit.  It is a slow process.  It is not quite ready to go pubic.  I can feel the desire for change in my blog, yet I am still ironing out the direction I would like to see it take.  Be assured you will continue to see delicious food and recipe posts!  There is still creativity happening in Food Radical’s kitchen!

2015 was about change.  Abrupt, forced upon me change.  In a post earlier this year, Dip. Dip. Depression. I described what had happened to create this abrupt change.  This is the dark side of 2015.  There have been rough times and I have struggled.  In the midst of it I was constantly blessed with serendipity; my reminders that where I am is good and right.  2015 guided me to where I am currently in my life.  I am so deeply content; happy on my new path.  I feel focused and determined to continue checking off those bucket list items. These past few years have taught me that there is no time like the present.

Do what you love now.

2016 will be about change.  This time it is planned, gradual and deliberate change.  Food Radical will be making radical change in 2016.

I feel more alive and awake than I have felt in a very long time.  This past year has been incredibly transformative.  I never could have imagined the magic I have experienced in this last year.  It has renewed my faith in people; there are so many generous and giving souls in this world.  It has given me hope for the future and grounded me in the comfortable security I needed in moving forward to shape my new life.  That platform is where change happened.  It has been pivotal in goals I’ve established for myself.

As I look to this coming year I think of the accomplishments I have made and those yet to come.  I am living more wholly in my life, feeling more authentic and courageous.  This year will be about change.  I imagine it will be the most radical change I have experienced thru far.  Unquestionably, I am ready to embrace the abundance before me.  I will end with a quote from one of my favorite spiritual leaders.  His passing a few months ago left a deeply sad place in my heart.  His words have been my inspiration this past year.

“Miracles come in moments. Be ready and willing.” Dr. Wayne Dyer.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

