I Say Chicken. You Say Yay!!

If you’ve followed my blog at all, you’ll know I love chicken.  I have certainly had quite the love affair recently!  I couldn’t help myself!  When bargain prices meet happy, all ready prepared chicken, well I simply get weak in the knees!!

Whole roasted chickens, prepared in a way that is safe for my diet, (I ask!!) spiced nicely, and all I need to do is take it home and eat??  Now, that’s my kind of fast food!!  In fact, I was so thrilled with this deal I took home two!

Of course, once home with my sense of reason back on solid ground, I realized I had no room for two domed containers holding whole roasted chicken.  What was I thinking??   My fridg is tiny!  Well, good thing I think well under pressure and went to work using my brand new set of high quality kitchen knives.  Yes, I finally treated myself to some quality blades and oh wow!!  FoodRadical is one delighted chef!  I filleted and cut those chickens to the bones!!  I even took those bones and boiled all the goodness right out of them, creating a lovely, healthful broth for chicken and vegetable soup.

I taught my first Healthy Eating on a Budget workshop at one of the apartment buildings where I work.  I’m sure you could guess that the budget friendly, healthy recipe and sampling I provided was this very chicken and vegetable soup I speak of!!  It is one of the most affordable and healthy meals for people on tight budgets.  I love teaching people how to use a whole chicken to get the most from their precious food dollars.  That class was so successful and a ton of fun for me!  I am in my perfect element with this job!  I love it!

I am here to say that I might be sick of eating chicken.  Almost!  I have had chicken for lunch and dinner; even sometimes for breakfast, the past two weeks.  For real!  I have found a plethora of ways to create delicious meals using chicken.  My recent favorite this past week has been chicken and spinach stuffed acorn squash.  It’s simple–bite size chunks of chicken along with a handful of baby spinach stuffed into the cored center of a cooked acorn squash.  Yes, yum!!

Seriously though, whole chickens cooked or not are truly a fantastic way to stretch your bucks while still feeding yourself and whoever else for at least a week!  The fact that you can make another week of meals simply by using the bones to prepare a soup is phenomenal!  Give it a try.  Here is a very simple recipe I use in the slow cooker.  Toss your ingredients in, turn it on, forget about it!!  But, not for long because the fragrance, you’ll soon discover is drool worthy and you’ll be counting down till it’s ready!

Chicken and Vegetable Soup

In a slow cooker, dutch oven or large pot, add:

1/2 yellow onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, chopped

3 carrots, sliced in rounds

2 celery stalks, sliced

spices of your choice (I like basil, parsley, paprika and tumeric)

2 cups chicken pieces or chunks

8 cups of broth (made from bones of the whole chicken)

Set to desired temperature and anticipate a fantastic meal!

I throw in about 2 cups of spinach about 15 to 30 minutes before eating it and allow that to wilt.  Tastes so good!

Optional add ins:  radishes, turnips, kale, any veggie that happens to be in your fridg!

Enjoy with your choice of sides!
Here’s some of what I’ve been enjoying:

Soup!

Soup!

soup!

soup!

and more soup!

and more soup!

2 thoughts on “I Say Chicken. You Say Yay!!

Leave a Reply

