Coconut Red Curry Chicken and Vegetables over Quinoa

I had intentions to make this dish last night for dinner, but yesterday was simply insane. Work has been incredibly difficult this week.  I am not sure why.  There is always a lot going on, but there are some things that are reaching a tipping point.  Additionally, there is a lot of extra stuff on my plate this week!  When I got home last night I was in such a horrible mood and so irritable. Thankfully, I had someone to vent with and decompress.  She took care of my phyical ailment as well and offered lots of loving compassion.  I felt so much better, but by the time we were done talking it was too late to make this dish and I honestly had no desire.

The ailment I was dealing with yesterday was a swollen eye.  I woke up with it and I didn’t know what was happening, but it got worse as the day wore on.  The pain from it woke me up at 3am this morning and my eye was nearly swollen shut with redness and swelling down to my cheek bone.  Even though I had a class and a workshop to give, I knew I needed to get myself to the doctor and give myself a sick day.  I discovered I have allergic conjuctivitis.  It is apparently caused by environmental allergies.  Of course!  I’m allergic to everything!  Okay, that is quite an exageration but some times it sure seems that way.

It is very hard for me to stay home when I know I should be working.  I have so much to get done with deadlines to meet.  I spent a lot of the morning feeling antsy until I decided to be more productive and make this dish.  It was super easy to put together and smelled so divine while it was simmering on the stove top.

I’ve done all the things recommended to help heal my eye including my own over the top care in an attempt to speed healing so I can go to work tomorrow.  Also, we are heading out of town for our coastal road trip Saturday morning so I definitely want to be well for that!  I eventually calmed myself and enjoyed making this and a couple other things this afternoon.  Dinner tonight will be fabulous!  I added the vegetables that were in my fridge but you can add whatever you have in your fridg.  It will be delicious, I’m sure.  Enjoy this simple dish!

Coconut Red Curry Chicken and Vegetables

Heat a medium skillet on the stove top and add the thick coconut cream from a can of coconut milk.  Add enough water to thin it to a sauce-like consistency.  Allow to simmer until the cream breaks down then add 1 1/2 Tablespoons of red curry paste to the skillet. Continue to simmer until the paste and cream are completely smooth.  Add basil (fresh would be best, but I discovered mine was bad, so I used dried) Add to this:

1 cup cubed chicken breast, cooked

1 medium zucchini, sliced in half moon shapes

2 large carrots, sliced in rounds

1/4 red onion, thinly sliced

stir to coat all the meat and veggies then allow to simmer until the meat is heated through and the vegetables are tender crisp.  I then added a bit of sea salt and freshly ground pepper. Toss in some baby spinach (I only had about 2/3 cup left, but more is better!) Let simmer until spinach is slightly whilted.  Pour over some quinoa (or rice, or noodles!)

Eat and enjoy!

IMG_3450 IMG_3455

Leave a Reply

