Gluten Free Breakfast Tortilla

Back when I was working in the Head Start kitchen, I had an assistant that would come to work with her breakfast.  A native of Ethiopia, I often got to be the recipient of her traditional dishes she brought to eat.  She would make a type of quick tortilla that she considered a decent substitute for the time intensive injera bread, an Ethiopian staple at meals.  She would eat it with Atkilt Wot or Mesir Wot.  While I completely enjoyed these two dishes, I could not try the tortilla she made with regular white flour.  They always looked so delicious, cooked perfectly with just the right amount of browning.

I was reminiscing about my old kitchen assistant, who became a wonderful friend in the time we worked together.  Remembering her food gave me a craving and I just had to give these tortillas a try.  After trying a few different flour combinations, I decided that sticking with a single type of flour works best.  I really liked the Chickpea flour version I made because the texture was spot on, but the flavor wasn’t quite what I was going for.  I ended up just trying Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour and while I am not as excited by the texture, the flavor is perfect and just what I had in mind.

They are so quick and easy to make and when scrambled eggs and spinach get added in, the combination is fantastic!  Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  It starts great with this delicious meal!

Try it for yourself.  It just takes:

3 1/2 Tbsp Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour (or chickpea flour)

3 1/2 Tbsp cool water

mix together until thoroughly combined and smooth in texture.  Drizzle a teaspoon of oil into a skillet.  I used olive oil.  Swirl around the pan to coat, pre-heat the pan and when ready, pour tortilla batter into pan.  Use a spatula to spread the batter about 6-7″ round.  I like mine to be crepe thin and I think it gets the best consistency.  Cook on each side for about 2 minutes.  Remove from pan, add scrambled eggs and spinach!  To prepare my egg, I cracked one egg in a pan, scrambled it up a bit, tossed in thinly sliced spinach leaves, scrambled until done.  Added a little sea salt and freshly crushed peppercorns…boom! Enjoy breakfast!

20150722_065553

Leave a Reply

