Gettin’ My Spiralizer On!!

I have finally grasped the true use of my spiralizer that I have had for months.  I just could not seem to make that thing work the way I wanted then I realized I was using it incorrectly.  I am left handed so it took me some time to master the skill of right handed spiralizing in a left handed way.  Did you get that?  Hehe….This world was not made for left handed people!

I finally made what I would consider a true success in spiralizing.  In case you don’t know what spiralizing means; it is the art of turning vegetables into noodles.  While I was working at a local kitchen store a while back I took advantage of my discount and purchased a tool that makes spiralizing a breeze.

My farmer’s market haul this past weekend included several zucchini and yellow squash so I made a plan for “zoodles” {aka: zucchini noodles}.  This morning I made them and created a fantastic salad that was my lunch today.

I was so impressed with my creation I swear that made my lunch taste even better!  It was delicious!  I ate well today.  I am feeling great for it tonight!

Spiralizing my veggies will be my new favorite way to prepare my meals!

Spiralized Zucchini and Quinoa Salad

With one medium raw zucchini and using a spiralizing tool, create long, curly threads, resembling spaghetti noodles. Use this as the base for your salad.  Top with cooked (according to package directions) quinoa that has been cooled.  I used about 1/3 cup of cooked quinoa for this salad.  To these add:

1 medium raw carrot, spiralized

2 tablespoons toasted sunflower seeds (heat raw seeds in skillet until lightly browned)

1/4 cup marinated artichoke hearts

Drizzle with this dressing:

2 Tblsp. olive oil

2 Tblsp. balsamic vinaigrette

1/8 tsp crushed fresh peppercorns

1/8 tsp agave syrup

1/4 tsp garlic powder

dash of sea salt

Whisk in bowl or shake in jar to incorporate ingredients. (there will be more than is needed for the salad)

Enjoy!!20150720_080131 20150720_082522 20150720_082542

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ My Spiralizer On!!

Leave a Reply

