Stupendous Spontaneous Sunbutter Sauce

I made the most delicious sauce the other morning.  It was a very spontaneous decision while I was trying to figure out what to pack for my lunch.  I have been feeling great, getting solid sleep and have had TONS of energy in the morning.  This, coupled with my habit of early rising has given me the opportunity to do things like spontaneous sauce making before heading off to work!

I knew I wanted to use some quinoa noodles I’d purchased recently and greens from my dad’s garden I am still going through.  I wanted a chilled salad since the weather has been horrendously hot here in P-town. I decided I would try something like a peanut sauce except using sunflower seed butter.  I completely guessed on measurements and that caused a bit of a problem because the end result was a bit too salty for my liking, but still quite tasty. I got three days of noodle salad lunches from this dressing and that made me very happy!

What wasn’t so happy for me was making this sauce landed me at urgent care!  Yes, I am admitting to you all that I did one of the most ridiculously stupid things I have ever done.  Why?  I have no answer.  Momentary brain freeze? I think so because when I was done blitzing my sauce with my immersion blender I proceeded to use my index finger to wipe around the inside blade area to get excess sauce off. I forgot to unplug the thing and accidentally pressed the button with my other hand while my finger was in the blade area. The result??  One very mangled index finger!  Yeah, that one hurt like heck!!  I am grateful my immersion blender is about 15 years old and while the blade is clearly sharp, it was not sharp enough that I lost my finger tip.  I cringe thinking about what kind of damage a sharper blade could have done. The doctor I saw had quite a sense of humor and upon determining the condition of my finger, found my particular story rather funny.  I agree.  It is pretty laughable–now!

I needed no stitches and I may not even lose my nail.  I’ll just have to see how it heals.  In the meantime, it’s gory to look at and I have one more great story to tell!  I also still managed to get this lunch together!  Thankfully, I had already prepped everything else before I bladed my finger!!

I used quinoa linguine and cooked as the box directed then drained and rinsed them.  I spiralized one half of a medium carrot and cut one large collard leaf into thin strips then tossed the vegetables with the noodles.  I drizzled the sauce on top and took it to go!  The flavors tasted phenomenal together after melding a few hours.  I am roughly guessing the measurements on my ingredients and I think you could do the same.  Make it according to your tastes and drizzle it on noodles or veggies or both!  Enjoy a good summertime salad with the stupendous sunbutter sauce!  And, keep your fingers out of blenders!

2 Tblsp sesame oil

1 tsp chili oil

3 Tblsp low sodium tamari ( 1 1/2 Tblsp would have been plenty)

1 Tblsp rice vinegar

2 tsp pure maple syrup

1/4 cup Sunflower Seed butter ( or nut butter of your choice)

Whisk or blend with an immersion blender until smooth and well combined.  Store in fridg.  Makes around a 1/2 cup of sauce.

IMG_3318

Leave a Reply

