The Short Sweet Life of Luscious Raspberries

If you read yesterday’s blog post, Let Us Eat Lettuce you will know I have plentiful greens for weeks to come.  Well, today I have an abundance of raspberries.  The short sweet season has arrived and they are ready for picking.  I am fortunate to know someone who has a plethora of these delicious jewels, my very favorite berry.  Yesterday I picked so many and that was just the first pick of the season!  These vines are mature and bountiful with beautiful red bunches ready to eat.  I plan on getting more later today.  First, I need to move some of yesterdays crop out of my little fridg.  Over half of what I plucked from the vines yesterday went to my landlady.  She is such an awesome woman who has helped me out innumerable times.  The list of wonderful and supportive ways seems endless.  I can tell some stories about this fortuitous meeting.  But, I’ll stay focused on the raspberries for now!

I have made these gluten free maple raspberry scones several times and have blogged about this recipe before.  Raspberries and Reflections was one of those stories using the same recipe.  I sometimes add my own twist on recipes, switching up ingredients for various reasons.  This morning I followed the recipe nearly exact, with the only changes being coconut oil instead of palm oil, I used light coconut milk and I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon.  You can find the original recipe here: http://www.nourishingmeals.com/2009/07/gluten-free-maple-raspberry-scone.html and I also have it listed below with my variations.

I just pulled the second batch of these from the oven and I am enjoying the tantalizing sweet scent throughout my home.  I’ll fess up and say I have already eaten one from the first batch.  I could not wait to bite into these!  They are truly fantastic.  I encourage you to try this recipe yourself.  They will serve well for delicious breakfasts on the go and morning snacks with tea.

Gluten Free Maple Raspberry Scones

1 ½ cups brown rice flour or sorghum flour (I used 1 cup brown rice flour + 1/2 cup sorghum flour)
½ cup tapioca flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
¾ teaspoon xanthan gum    (my addition: 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon)
½ teaspoon sea salt 
½ cup organic palm shortening (I used coconut oil)
⅓ cup maple syrup
½ cup + 2 tablespoons cold non-dairy milk (I used light coconut milk)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 heaping cup fresh raspberries

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Place the flours, baking powder, xanthan gum, and sea salt into a medium mixing bowl and whisk together well. Cut in the shortening with your fingers or a pastry cutter until coarse crumbs are formed.

In a separate small bowl whisk together the syrup, milk, and vanilla. Add this to the dry ingredients and quickly mix together with a fork or wooden spoon until the dough thickens. Fold in the raspberries, being very careful not to over mix.

Drop by the large spoonful onto a cookie sheet and bake for about 15 to 17 minutes, depending on the size of your scone.

I got 8 scones from this recipe.  I believe the original authors states her yield the same.

IMG_3272 IMG_3277

Leave a Reply

