Breakfast For Dinner-A Mother’s Day Tribute

This is the second Mother’s Day without my mom here.  This day brings such bittersweet memories with a touch of extra sadness as I think of the recent death of my bff’s mother. All the firsts; they really are the hardest.  Today has been a day of reflection for me.  I enjoyed breakfast with some of the family, then treated myself to a clothes shopping spree, something I rarely do.  Although I chatted with both my kids today, I missed them more than usual…wishing that they lived just a little bit closer.  I felt an underlying sadness most of the day even though I was having fun throughout it.

One of the things I fondly remember when my kids were young was our monthly tradition of breakfast for dinner.  It was the one dinner I knew my kids would eat without argument and I enjoyed making a comforting dinner that was quick, delicious and affordable.  As a single parent, all these things are valuable to quality of life and sanity!

Once home, I really wanted to bring myself back to a content state of mind so I put my new kitchen island to the test.  Recently gifted to me in the same magical way I have been receiving things the past several months, it was not in perfect condition.  It needed a good cleaning, a bit of tightening for stability and refinishing of the butcher block top.  Freshly rejuvenated by me with a little help from a friend.  I am very proud of my DIY kitchen island make over.  It still needs a couple of finishing touches but is usable and as of this morning, sits prominently in my kitchen area.  Happy Mother’s Day to me!!  It worked beautifully as I prepared my own breakfast for dinner to celebrate myself…well, and the fact that I have two amazing kids who call me mom.  That makes my heart very happy.

Today, I say thank you to my kids, grown and paving their own way in this world.  Thank you for choosing me to be your mom.  I am such a proud mama, a heart overflowing with love and gratitude.  As a tribute to them and to my mom, who would scoff at breakfast for dinner.  “Why, that is not the way you do things!”  I can hear her saying it.  I raise my fork to you, mom….I secretly think she would love breakfast for dinner.

It was fantastic.  I am content.  Back at my happy place.

Happy Mother’s Day.  Every day.

My finished project!!  Looking good!

My finished project!! Looking good!

20150510_184950

 

Pancakes

1/3 cup sorghum flour

1/4 cups brown rice flour

1/8 cup almond meal

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 Tbsp Xanthan gum

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup raw cane sugar

whisk ingredients together in a small bowl

1 egg

1 cup almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

whisk together in a small until well incorporated and small bubbles form around edges of bowl

whisk dry ingredients into wet ingredients.  Mix until blended.  Let sit for 5 mins.  Scoop 1/3 cup of batter into a cup and pour into well oiled pan, preheated on medium heat.  Let brown until bubbles form on top, flip, cook for 5 more mins.  Plate with your choice of topping.

Frittata

whisk 5 eggs, your choice of spices and 1/2 cup almond milk in a medium bowl.  Saute diced onions, green onions and carrots.  Line the bottom of an 8×4 shallow glass casserole dish (greased) with onion mixture, spread a lay of baby spinach across the top of the mixture, covering it completely. Pour egg mixture over all of it, making sure all veggies are covered well.  Top with cheese, dairy free or not at all!!  Bake for 20 mins at 350 degrees.  Enjoy

Breakfast.  It’s what’s for dinner.

Leave a Reply

