A Crock Of Comfort

Some days simply require a little extra comfort.  I have had many of those days recently where I have been seeking comfort in whatever ways I can.  I was fortunate enough to find some time even in the midst of my current life chaos to get in the kitchen and make a crock of chicken and veggies.  Of course, it doesn’t take long to drop all the ingredients right into the crock, turn the knob and get some comfort food going.

When my life gets this crazy stressful I often forget to eat so having something pre-made that I know is nutritious and sustains me is essential.  I make up container meals with my crock of food so all I need to do is pop it in the microwave for a quick warm up.  Because my world got all shook up and my daily food preparation habits have had to change, this also helps me to not feel so “deprived” of my routine style of eating because when “sh*t gets real”, like my current day crisis, it is imperative I maintain my usual healthful eating. My body demands it and I need my body to be at its best right now.

I made up the spice combination and ingredients in this recipe, loosely going on a recipe I remember from the past.  I put one pound of organic, all happy, boneless, skinless chicken thighs in the bottom of my crock, rubbed the thigh pieces with a spice combination of garlic, paprika, turmeric, cumin, parsley and black pepper, tossed in some yellow onion slices (about 1/2 a medium sized onion) and carrot coins (4 carrots).  Then I added about one cup of vegetable broth, one can of light coconut milk and put on the lid.  I set it for four hours.  About 15 minutes before I was ready to dig in I added 3 cups of baby spinach to the top of the food in the crock, put the lid back on and let it steam until wilted.  I ladled it over some multi-colored quinoa and had myself one delicious comfort food meal!  I now have quick “go to” meals for days.  A crock full of comfort.  It’s what I like. IMG_3083

Leave a Reply

