KJ meets Cancer

Just recently I learned that KJ, a friend and former colleague received a breast cancer diagnosis.  Days later I got an email invitation to join her blog so I could follow her progress, stay connected  and offer support.  Then the meal train invitation came.  Such a great idea!  It’s basically an online organizing tool used to simplify giving and receiving meals.  KJ has some pretty amazing people in her circle and someone kindly set up a “meal train” for her as she begins her journey with chemotherapy.  I happily signed myself up to bring a prepared dinner meal.

I must say hearing of KJ’s diagnosis was shocking for me.  Learning of this as I approach the one year anniversary of my mom’s death from breast cancer made the harshness of this news more biting.  I admit KJ has been on my mind often and I am grateful for the opportunity to participate in not only her journey, but her healing by providing healthful meals (along with a lot of positive intentions sent out to the Universe!).  Additionally, I feel like I can witness another way to approach such a dire diagnosis: acceptance.  It is something I feel my mom never did.  With each new blog entry from KJ I am in awe at the enormous amount of love displayed by everyone who comments.  More so, the positive attitude I’ve observed in KJ is amazing and powerful.  While I know there are plenty of fearful and tearful moments, what I see is an incredibly strong woman owning her new life journey and fully immersing herself in learning the “walk” on this new path.  KJ is surrounded by love.  I am honored to be on the “love train” and the “meal train”.  Strangely, somehow it helps me in my own healing.  It feels really good to participate.

I chose this medicine meal combination with healing and dietary preferences in mind.  I used all quality, organic ingredients with as many non-GMO products I could find.  I poured a lot of love into it all and after taste tests here at home, I am pleased with the outcome.

On the menu for KJ and her family:

Creamy Carrot Ginger Soup – Carrots and ginger combined have powerful effects on the immune system thanks to the high amounts of vitamins C and A.

Warmed Butternut Squash Salad w/Balsamic dressing – Butternut squash is rich with beta-carotene.  I’ve read phytochemicals in spinach may play a role in fighting cancer.

Crispy Quinoa Cakes w/Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Cream Dip – Quinoa is simply a superfood filled with cancer fighting properties, but most importantly, quinoa contains a substance called saponins that actually produces anti-tumor activity and suppress the proliferation of cancer cells.  {keep quinoa in your diet, KJ!} 

To find the recipe I used for the soup, check here–[http://www.eattobeat.org/onemeal/528/creamy-gingered-carrot-soup.html] My change was using a combination of shallots and red onion.

This will take you to the original recipe for the salad.   Find the recipe I used here–[http://minimalistbaker.com/warm-roasted-butternut-squash-salad/]  The only change I made was using raw agave syrup in place of brown sugar for the pecans & I made my own balsamic/olive oil drizzle.

To check out the original recipe for the quinoa cakes, check here–[http://ohmyveggies.com/crispy-quinoa-cakes-with-roasted-red-pepper-cashew-cream/]

I had such a fun afternoon making these dishes and was so happy KJ felt up for a short visit when we delivered the meal.  She looked great and seemed in pretty good spirits considering she’d just finished another round of chemo treatment.  I am keeping an eye out for the next opportunity to provide more meals to KJ and her family. I would like to be a part of her continued healing if only on the peripherals, making healthful meals and being a smiling face to bring them to her.

IMG_2979

Quinoa Cakes

IMG_2978

Containers marked with food descriptions and a few affirmations!

IMG_2975

Roasted Butternut Squash

IMG_2977

A mix of spinach and arugula will make this salad tasty!

Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Cream Dip

Roasted Red Pepper Cashew Cream Dip

Creamy Carrot Ginger Soup

Creamy Carrot Ginger Soup

IMG_2982

The meal ready to be delivered!

Leave a Reply

