Grain Free, Dairy Free Apple Crisp

We recently spent a weekend in West Seattle where we stayed at my sweetie’s cousins home, which I must say is quite a charming neighborhood!  We had such a great time walking to the local digs.  Of course, I had to check out the grocery stores, one of my favorite things to do!  I just can’t resist a good natural grocer!  Alki Beach was a short drive away where we spent time enjoying the sights and sunsets.  It was such a wonderfully relaxing mini vacation that was much needed.

The house was such a cute place, with one of the coolest kitchens!  While small, it was a great lay out and seemed very functional; a plus for me since I spend a lot of time in kitchens!  One afternoon as I wandered around the outside perimeter of the house checking out the plants and landscape, I noticed apples on the ground around a tiny tree. It seemed too small to be producing fruit, yet sure enough when I looked up I saw a plethora of red orbs waiting to be picked.  I was so excited and I picked several pounds of apples in no time!  This is one of my happiest moments: picking food from it’s origins then creating something delicious.  This truly makes my heart big.  I love the feeling of this in a way I just cannot describe.  So, I’ll say that I was skipping and smiling pretty big at the bag of apples I had.  My creative juices started going as I began imagining delicious crisp toppings.  I wanted to make it grain free and dairy free so I went a new direction with a topping after a bit of recipe research.

Here’s what I came up with:

I sliced all the apples (about 4 cups) and gave them a lemon water bath to keep them from browning.  After draining them, I tossed them in a large bowl with a few sprinkles of cinnamon and nutmeg along with a couple tablespoons of coconut sugar then mixed it so all the apple slices were coated.  I spread the slices evenly into a greased 9″x 13″ baking pan.  I made the following topping:

1/2 cup cashew pieces

1/4 cup almond pieces

1/8 cup walnut pieces

1/4 cup almond meal

1/8 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp sea salt

I mixed the dry ingredients together until well blended then cut in about 5 Tblsp of Earth Balance Soy Free spread until it was well incorporated.  I sprinkled the topping evenly over the apples slices then baked it in a 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes.

The nuts added a great texture and it had a lovely flavor that wasn’t too sweet.  The spice combination along with those sweet apples gave this crisp an overall fantastic taste.

Next time I’ll whip up a little coconut cream with a dash of vanilla for an extra delicious addition!

baby tree with so much to offer!

baby tree with so much to offer!

all spiced and ready to go!

all spiced and ready to go!

Baked goodness!

Baked goodness!

Leave a Reply

