Wake Up Smoothie

Well, It’s official.  I am on my summer break!  It’s also Friday and I need to get myself motivated to go out into this nasty morning weather so I can cross some things off my “to do” list.

I spent yesterday being a complete slug.  The weather was horrible and so was my mood. I’m not sure why I wasn’t skipping around and celebrating my new freedom from work. Instead I sulked and stayed in my pajamas until the afternoon.  Even with the ho hums, I managed to get some essential things complete in preparation for my upcoming road trip.  It was just really difficult to will myself out of the house.  Today is a different story.   I have places to go and people to see.  I am feeling a bit overwhelmed as I begin my day and I could easily sit in my pj’s and melt into the recliner.  The gloomy weather is certainly not enticing me to move from my comfy spot.  I know that in this moment my day of errands seems tedious.  When I get it done I will be thankful for doing it and grateful to be a few steps closer to  getting on the road.

In addition to a little self talk to motivate my mind, I am finding it necessary to motivate my body by fueling it with a super food green smoothie.  My sluggish brain needs a boost and this naturally sweet, creamy drink has energy producing hemp seeds to set me in the right direction for the day.

Here is what I call my Wake Up Smoothie:

1 banana

3/4 cup frozen mango chunks

2 Tablespoons hemp seeds

1 cup chopped kale

6 ounces unsweetened almond milk

Blend together in bullet or blender until smooth and creamy.  Drink and wake up!

Cheers to Friday!  Double cheers to summer!!  I am waking up and it’s time to get going!

Image

6 thoughts on “Wake Up Smoothie

  1. This is a perfect beginner’s green smoothie because you cannot taste the kale & the hemp seeds provide a nutty flavor to help mask any “green” flavor. The prominent flavor is nutty mango! Give it a try! I think you’ll be pleased!

    Like

  2. Sounds delish! And in with you – lack in structure sometime a isn’t a good thing for me. But you’re entitled to a couch potato day or two! And you’ve got the whole summer ahead of you! Congrats on wrapping up the school year!

    Like

  3. Thanks! It was so creamy and delicious! Yes, I admit that I enjoy some structure to my day. I like to have a plan! I even like to plan my couch potato days and when I don’t….well, I could get into a funk faster than I can think of a way to avoid it! I realize now that “funk” the other day was needed. I needed the mind transition from work to summer, I was feeling scared and overwhelmed with my upcoming road trip so I really did need that couch potato day. I’m still scared but now I must use my fear and anxiety to propel me forward with my plans! I’m leaving in 4 days!

    Like

  4. Can you hear my screaming all the way from the west coast?? AAAHHHHH!!!!!!! I am anxious! LOL Yeah, this is such a huge challenge for me in so many ways. I am definitely feeling the fear today! Just gotta keep remembering to breath.

    Like

Leave a Reply

