Kale Chips: The New Office Hero

Things are winding down here at the school house where I work.  We are all exhausted as we come to the final days of our school year.  Classes are finished and we are putting the last of our paperwork in order so we can close the chapter on this year and this school house.  Our head start program will be moving to new facilities in the fall so we have had the additional work of cleaning out cupboards, closets and clearing shelves.  We are packing what we will need next year to take to the new building and making a gigantic pile of things we will not take with us.  These are some hectic days, but instead of contending with children, we are wrangling boxes as we struggle to get through this very busy week.  Many will be “laid off” for the summer come Friday.  I have a few more days and will be in the same place next Wednesday.  Even though it’s expected it can be a stressful transition from full time work to unemployment for two months.  We will return to the complete unknown.

As I rushed out the door for work this morning, I grabbed my bag of kale and some other ingredients so I could make a batch of kale chips at work.  It is a rare opportunity when I get to create some of my kind of food for my co-workers to enjoy.  Mid morning seemed the perfect time to take a break and get a snack going for the office.  These kale chips got rave reviews and immediate inquiries into how I make them taste so good and how to make them without burning them.  (just remember low & slow!)  One of the teachers, who I am particularly fond of, then asked if I would please blog about kale chips.  Well, honestly, she kind of begged me!   I said I would love to blog about them if she came up with a witty title for this blog, thus resulting in what you read above.  (Thanks, teacher K!)  I guess I thought blogging about kale chips was rather dull, but what I discovered is there are many people who love the idea and taste, but really don’t know the best way to create a successful batch.

So, to my very favorite school house mates, I dedicate this to you.  Those who will not move over to the new site will be sorely missed.  (read: advocates!)  What will I do without my hugs and mini reiki sessions, reminders to breath and sweet, empowering quotes I find on my desk.  Sigh….changes, changes.  To all of you who just want to know how to make a fabulous and healthful snack that is simple and quick;  I present my recipe for Kale Chips:

1 bunch of lacinato kale (use all or part of a bunch), washed, dried and torn into bite size pieces, add to large bowl for mixing oil & spices

2 Tablespoons of olive oil, or enough to evenly coat pieces

2-3 Tablespoons of nutritional yeast

5 turns of a pepper mill (or about 1/4 teaspoon)

Using your hands, mix to coat all the kale pieces with oil and spices

Lay pieces onto a ungreased baking sheet in a single layer, making sure they are not touching for full baking goodness.  Put into a 250 degree oven for 15 minutes or until you notice the kale pieces look crisp.  Check your batch often as they can burn quickly.  Once out of the oven, transfer to a bowl and sprinkle with sea salt.  Eat, enjoy, be happy.

Everyone enjoyed them and it was a nice reprieve to indulge in some delicious snack food with the people I work around everyday,  but rarely talk with because we are so darn busy! Kale chips became the office hero today.  We all were required to take pause if we wanted to enjoy their crispy goodness and they are just so good, all you will want to do is sit back, take in a deep breath and relax into your snack.

IMG_1338

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kale Chips: The New Office Hero

  1. Great post! And these look awesome. I tried to make kale chips once. It did not go well. Lol. Maybe with your blueprint I can get it right this time! Happy summer! Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

