Water. Precious Water.

An E Coli scare in our city’s water has forced all of Portland to boil it’s water.  Water used for any food preparations, drinking or tooth brushing must be boiled for a full minute prior to use.  When I first heard of the order I didn’t fully realize the impact until it came time for me to make food.  Water is so essential.  It is amazing how much we take it for granted until it must be conserved.

Instead of buying a bunch of bottled water and having tons of plastic waste, I boiled our water.  Simple.  Cheap.  Sustainable.  No wasteful plastic to deal with later.  Many Portlanders were buying bottled water; so much that shelves were bare and semi trucks were unloading pallet after pallet of bottled water at our favorite grocery store.  It was a little crazy, in my personal opinion.  In a matter of a few hours there was wide spread water panic as people mobbed stores to get their share.  I didn’t really understand the panic.  Simply turn on the faucet, let it run cold for a minute, fill a pot, put on stove top, boil.  Done. Clean drinking water.  But, that’s just me.

So, boiling water is what I did.  I boiled lots of it.  I cook a lot.  I drink a lot of water.  I wanted safe water readily available.  Image

While I boiled I read up on Dandelion Tea benefits and spontaneously decided that I must have this tea.  Since I was boiling water, what the heck!  I went out to the yard, clipped a few dandelions and enjoyed a healthful cup with my freshly boiled water! Simply steep a few of those lovely yellow flowers for 10-15 minutes in boiling water.  It is that easy!

Here are some benefits received by drinking Dandelion Tea:

  • aids in digestion and helps relieve digestive disorders
  • enhances detoxification by stimulating urination
  • relieves bloat and water retention
  • reduces inflammation for arthritis sufferers
  • provides amazing amounts of minerals & vitamins A,C,D,E & B Complex, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc when infused in hot water
  • helps boost immunity and combats cancer, heart disease and age-related memory loss
  • aids in health maintenance for people suffering from type-1 & type-2 diabetes

There are so many more incredible health benefits to drinking Dandelion Tea.  But, do I really need to list more?  Get outside and pick those pesky dandelions!  They will do more good in your body than in your grass.  Go on….give it a try!

Image

Oh, and Portland lifted it’s water ban this evening.  I think I’ll toss some lemon and cucumber slices in my mason jars of boiled water. No sense in pouring it down the drain! Now that would just be wasteful.  Water, I am reminded, is a precious commodity.

 

 

 

One thought on “Water. Precious Water.

  1. I’m glad the water ban was lifted! But what a great way to make the best of a less than ideal situation. The Dandelion Tea looks delicious, and thank you for sharing some of the health benefits. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

