Beautiful Bone Broth

I have been reading about bone broth for quite some time now and most recently have been more seriously considering making it for myself.  The problem for me was trying to find meat bones that are from a happy cow, preferably a grass fed one.  Now just where would I go to inquire about this?  Well, my problem was solved when I was at the Farmer’s Market recently purchasing grass fed happy meat from one of my favorite vendors.  They were having a special the day I was there.  Purchase $10 or more of meat and receive a 10 pound bag of beef or pork soup bones.  Well, Okay!!  It is not difficult at all to spend $10 so I got my bag of soup bones and I chose beef.

Bone broth is a source of magnesium, calcium, phosphorus, potassium and is easily absorbed in the body.  It also has chondroitin sulphates and glucosamine which are the compounds that reduce inflammations, arthritis and joint pain.  A properly prepared bone broth breaks down the collagen and provides a gelatin rich broth that prevents bone loss and builds healthy skin, hair and nails.

Bone broth requires an extensive process to be properly prepared.  Broth is different from stock.  The stock you can buy in the store uses a fast cooking, high temperature technique in addition to adding MSG and other unnatural things so you miss out on the benefits of a home simmered broth.

I had a lot on plate in the last week so I put my purchased bag of beef soup bones in the freezer.  Now that my daughter and her friends are gone, I have more free time.  I decided to attempt this bone broth idea.  I looked at a lot of recipes, researched the process and decided to use a mix of ideas that best suited me.  The bones must be slowly simmered over a period of (preferably) 24 hours to extract the minerals from the bone marrow.   I started by roasting the bones in a 400 degree oven as recommended to enhance the flavor of the broth, then simmered them on the stove top in a large stock pot for about 5 hours.  When I was ready to end my day and retire to bed I transferred the broth to my slow cooker and set it on low to cook overnight and into the next day.

Even though it was a long process,  it was relatively simple and not that time consuming in the preparations.  It sure smelled pretty amazing in the house while this delicious broth was stewing.

The end result was 2 quarts of beautiful bone broth.  It can be safely stored in the refrigerator for 3-5 days or frozen in ice cube trays then transferred to freezer bags for future use.  Now I’m working on coming up with some wonderful recipes that will let me use my healthy, medicinal broth!   We’ll see what gets cooking in food radical’s kitchen.

Bone Broth

10 pounds of beef bones

1 red onion, roughly cut

5 celery tops with leaves

2 teaspoons of parsley

1 teaspoon sea salt

(I should have added pepper but didn’t.  I highly recommend it!)

Filtered water, to cover bones

2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar (to help extract minerals)

Roast bones in 400 degree oven for 45 minutes.  Remove from oven.  Cool till bones can be easily handled.   Add to a stock pot or slow cooker and fill with filtered water to just cover bones.  Add any vegetables you have on hand but avoid vegetables like broccoli, turnips, peppers, cabbage or greens as they will make your broth bitter.   I was low on veggies for this batch so on my next try I will definitely add more spices and veggies.

IMG_2115 IMG_2119 IMG_2122

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Bone Broth

  1. Oh yum!! You know I still haven’t done it with beef yet exactly for the same reason — can’t find happy grassy bones. I know Whole Foods has but it’s far and just haven’t had the time to get there. This looks amazing! And love the gorgeous radish in there!!

    Like

  2. Thanks! You know, that gorgeous red you see is an onion. No radishes in this batch, but great idea! Mine are almost ready to harvest from the garden!
    I wish it had a little more flavor. I think I was trying to be too purist about it. We also didn’t have a lot in the way of produce to add to my broth so the end result doesn’t have the desired taste I was hoping for. That won’t stop me from sipping on some and turning it into some delicious dinners! I’ve got Pho on my mind!

    Like

Leave a Reply

