Evening Grills & Portland Thrills

Being in my anti-social bubble and having house guests don’t really work well together. Especially since two of the three guests have never been to this city and are considering it for their future home.  The third guest was my daughter and those who know my spirited oldest can probably imagine that being a mopey mom during her visit from Boston was just going to have to be put on hold.  “I’m only here for five days! You have to do things with us!”

Of course I was thrilled at the opportunity to spend time with my daughter and I enjoyed being a co-tour guide for our guests.  I love our city with all it’s cool neighborhoods, gloriously green parks, funky shops and markets.  I got reminded why I love Portland so much.  And, I’m pretty sure by the end of their visit we made converts out of the questioning Bostonians.

We spent time at home enjoying some grilled burgers and a simple salad on their first evening here.  On their last evening here we were back home again enjoying a smorgasbord of left overs from all of our outings.  We tossed a few uncured all beef hot dogs on the grill for my dad and whoever else wanted some.  Dad didn’t notice they weren’t Oscar Meyer and even asked for seconds!

IMG_2028 IMG_2032 IMG_2033 IMG_2040

Everything in between those days involved a whirlwind of activity that included many happy hours with delicious food.  Boston does not have “happy hour” which means cheaper food and drink for a specified period of time.  Portland has some amazing happy hour foods and drinks all over the city.  The guests were thrilled with the inexpensive tabs.

Lest we not forget to mention that one of the guests was celebrating her birthday during this visit and quite by coincidence my “pseudo daughter” was giving a performance at their new venue.  ‘ZigZurah’ dances with Offbeat Belly Dance, “a genre-defying belly dance show at it’s finest”, says their WordPress blog.  I am here to say that you haven’t seen talent until you’ve seen these amazing women shake their stuff.  They are fantastic entertainment and the best part is the dancer choose their own music so there could be traditional middle eastern music, zydeco, hip hop, jazz and everything in between.  I give a double thumbs up for their new venue that I hope will be readily available for them in the future.  The space was more open and light.  And, wow!  I had one of the best beet salads I’ve had in a long time.  I held the feta, but it wasn’t even needed since this multi-green salad was bursting with flavors and a sherry vinaigrette that tied it all together for an amazing flavor combination.  Something new on my salad was carrot foam!  Yes, foam!  Check out that picture!  Is that not the most beautiful salad?  That foam was like a fluffy orange cloud and I want to figure out how to recreate that!  It was delicious.

IMG_2096

IMG_2097 - Copy

IMG_2060 The amazing and talented ZigZurah

 IMG_2063 IMG_2065 IMG_2077 IMG_2092

I had a great time with my daughter and her guests.  My anxiety remained low which made it easier to enjoy our outings.  For most of the days they were here the weather was perfect Portland visitor weather with only one torrential downpour to remind them this really is one of the rainiest cities on the west coast.  I’m pretty sure that didn’t dissuade them, though.

It’s back to quiet here in our house.  I do love my quiet time.  However, I now sit in silence feeling more cheerful having seen my kid.  I will hold on to this feeling for as long as I can.

 

 

Leave a Reply

