Which Came First the Bunny or the Egg

Happy Easter to all those who celebrate this holiday.  Today I will spend time with my family and sit down later to a delicious sounding Easter dinner that my dad has prepared.  This will be our first Easter without our mom and my heart is heavy.

My mom used to make a great Easter table display with goodies tucked among bright and cheery decorations.  I considered attempting to recreate her display, but honestly, I just haven’t had the energy to muster that amount of creativity and I am not a fan of doping up my nieces and nephew with sugar, especially since I know they’ll have already had a good dose from their own homes.

I wanted to create something simple and sweet for them, but a nicer kind of sweet than the high fructose corn syrup jelly beans I know they’ll have already consumed.  I also did not want to go to the store the day before Easter so I had to work with what I had.  After perusing several recipe sites on line and going through my food blog favorites, I was inspired to come up with these Easter egg nests.  I had just enough shredded coconut to make a cute little nest for each of my nieces and nephew.   

Image

Image

These are the chocolate morsels I use

I tossed about a 1/2 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut into a bowl then set a small pan on the stove top for melting the chocolate.  I added about a 1/2 Tblsp of olive oil to the pan and 1/2 cup of chocolate morsels, set the heat low and stirred occasionally as it melted.  Once melted, I poured it into the bowl with the coconut and mix until combined.  I used my hands to mold the nests and used my thumb to depress the center for the candies I used as eggs (which I admit, I did go to the store for!).   Put them on a parchment paper covered baking sheet, add the candies to the middle and set in the fridg until chocolate firms up again.  

Eat, get messy, lick your fingers.  One is plenty for this super sweet treat!  I know they will all enjoy them.  I felt good about coming up with a themed treat for the kiddos and even better that I had just enough coconut to make one for each of them.  When they are all tearing around the house and bouncing around like the Easter bunny I can feel okay knowing I didn’t contribute too much to their crazy sugared up energy!  

4 thoughts on “Which Came First the Bunny or the Egg

Leave a Reply

