National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day

Did you know it’s National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day?  No one seems to know the creator of this day, but at some time in food history this classic sandwich was deemed “America’s favorite sandwich”.

After my random discovery I could not get the idea of this sweet and salty snack out of my mind.  My intended sandwich is a bit different because peanut butter and my body do not get along too well.  Sunflower seed butter is the perfect alternative to those with peanut allergies.  I discovered how fantastic sunflower seed butter tastes when I started working at my current job.  The kitchen I work in is a nut free kitchen and I use this spread as an alternative to peanut butter.  I had seen the jars in stores many times and wondered about it’s flavor and texture, but it is quite a bit more expensive than peanut butter and I wasn’t willing to waste dollars on something I might not like.  Now, even though the cost is higher, it has become a regular grocery list item.  I don’t indulge in sunflower seed butter too often so a jar lasts quite a while, making it worth the extra money for me.

I rarely use jam or preserves of any kind, however, we just happened to have a jar of locally made marionberry preserves in the fridg. Here it is:  a new age twist on a classic sandwich.

Image

I don’t know about you, but that looks like childhood to me!!  I am using this day as a reason to indulge in a delightful snack that takes me back my carefree kid days.  We all need a little reprieve from adulthood every now and then.  Go ahead; make your own peanut butter and jelly today.  Or, be daring and give sunflower seed butter a try.  By the way, it has double the fiber of peanut butter with the same level of protein!  Go on–enjoy!  You deserve it!!

Happy National Peanut Butter and Jelly day!!

2 thoughts on “National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day

Leave a Reply

