Breakfast for Dinner

Having been so uninspired with cooking recently, I strive to find the simplest meals that will get food on the plate in a quick way.  I have been deferring to pancakes often.  They are so simple.  I like the versatility of pancakes.  I can add fruit, nuts, seeds, and spices.  I can even mix it up with the flour choices.  A buckwheat pancake and a coconut flour pancake will yield very different flavors.  This is good news when pancakes is on the menu often.

There are so many side dish options with pancakes.  Toss a fruit salad and serve on the side or grill some sausage for a hit of protein.  My imagination can think of endless ways to dress up pancakes so breakfast for dinner works for me!  It fits my needs and my state of mind.  Not much thought goes into the process for me.  It is quick, easy, delicious and feeds us well.

Until I find myself being more motivated to create different dishes, we’ll keep pancakes of all varieties on the menu.  It’s good food.

These pancakes are a basic recipe using gluten free all purpose flour and I added blueberries to the mix because I love them!!

Here’s the details so you can give these a try:

2 cups GF All Purpose Flour Blend (I use Bob’s Red Mill)

1 1/2 teaspoons xantham gum

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons cane sugar

2 eggs, lightly beaten

3 ounces of Earth Balance or other non dairy spread

2 1/2 cups of dairy free milk ( I used almond milk)

1/2 cup blueberries

Heat griddle surface (or a large nonstick pan) and coat generously with oil. In a large bowl, place the flour, xanthan gum, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar and whisk to combine well.

Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and add the eggs, earth balance and milk, one at a time, blending well after each addition.  Add blueberries and continue to beat until the batter is free of lumps.

Using 1/3 cup measure, pour the pancake batter on the griddle surface, and allow to sit until bubbles begin to appear on the surface (2 to 3 minutes). Flip and continue cooking for another 1 to 2 minutes, or until lightly browned.

The batter will thicken as it stands. Thin with more milk, if needed to maintain pourable consistency.

I whipped up a fruit compote mix of strawberries, bananas, mangos and cinnamon.  I sauteed it all in a pan for a few minutes until the fruit was warmed through and topped the pancakes then drizzled a bit of pure maple syrup.  On the side is a chicken basil sausage, grilled and ready to eat!

Now doesn’t this make you want to try breakfast for dinner at your next evening meal?? Yum!

Breakfast for Dinner is a fantastic choice!

Breakfast for Dinner is a fantastic choice!

4 thoughts on “Breakfast for Dinner

  1. Breakfast for dinner was my favorite growing up! As an adult I recognize that there were times you made it because it was quick and cheap, but as a child it never ceased to feel like we were breaking some unspoken rule. It felt adventurous! I loved those nights

    Like

    • Those were fun nights and it did feel like we were being rule breakers!! It certainly was cheap and quick!! It filled your bellies, too!! There was always a guarantee you’d clean your plates on breakfast for dinner nights!

      Like

  2. Toni, I am glad to read you enjoy breakfast for dinner, too! Indeed, some rule breaking always makes life more fun….as long as no one is hurt by breaking them, of course!
    Thanks for reading my post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

