Snow Snug Soup

There is a blizzard happening right here in Portland. The snow just keeps falling. The streets are packed with snow and ice and many people are choosing to stay snug in their homes. Snow like this is so rare. I find my bouncy, excited child coming out as I wander window to window through my house looking at the different views of snow that have drifted to piles.  I can’t stop myself from giddy giggles and exclaiming, “Wow! It’s so deep! Wow! I love it!” I do love this weather!  I can’t help myself.  I love the mood it creates in me and the much needed lift in my spirit that it provides. Especially now, I’ll take anything that creates a boost from the doldrums.

I have been challenging myself to make meals only from what we have on hand. Considering the current weather conditions, this is definitely the avenue to take since I am a true Oregonian with no snow driving experience and a trip to the store is out of the question.

This weather is deserving of a simmering pot of soup and I just can’t deny myself the fun of this creation.  What resulted is a split pea type of soup that was so incredibly flavorful and delicious.

I pulled out my dutch oven pot and tossed everything in to make this a one pot meal.

Here is my version of split pea soup:

1 small white onion, diced

2 cloves of garlic, diced

Saute’ these in 1 tablespoon of olive oil until onions become translucent.

Add:

1 1/2 cups of split peas, a dash of salt and 1 teaspoon of black pepper then saute’ for 3 mins with the onion/garlic combo

Add:

6 cups of broth or water (I used vegetable broth)

2 medium carrots, cut in thin rounds

1 big chicken sausage link, cut in rounds and sauteed.

This would be a good time to add whatever spices your heart desires! I added marjoram, parsley, turmeric and bay leaves.

Bring to a boil, stir, cover and set on simmer for about an 1 1/2 hours.

We had a nice mixed greens salad with some sliced pears, almonds and red onions then drizzled with a little green garlic dressing.

My sweetie and I got cozy on the couch, sipped on soup and enjoyed a movie. What a lovely, cozy, snowy evening.

My heart is content.

One pot split pea soup

One pot split pea soup

IMG_1313

Dinner is served

SNOW!!!

SNOW!!!

Leave a Reply

