From tears to muffins

I apologize for letting dust settle in the corners over here in food radical’s blog world. I have been so uninspired recently. I’ve created plenty of yummy dishes, albeit a little lackluster. I take pictures, I create stories in my mind as thoughts and memories permeate my being, however I’m finding difficulty putting those stories into writing.

It’s been two months since my mom died and I’ve found it rather difficult to focus on anything but that. What’s new, right? Well, I have found some days to be a bit cheerier, however this sadness is so deep. I feel this loss to the core of my being and it can be agonizing. I can get lost in it. Sometimes I just need to redirect my mind and body; find a distraction so I can take some time to breathe.

On one of these kind of days as I scoured my recipes, I decided to go with something new. I have been wanting to try using coconut flour again. I had a small amount left that needed to be used and I just happened upon this muffin recipe:

http://www.thenourishinggourmet.com/2012/12/spiced-oatmeal-apple-muffins-gluten-dairy-egg-free.html

I love trying new recipes and this was perfect timing as I wanted to find complete focus on something different. With an almost frantic vengeance I began preparations for my new recipe. I immersed myself in measuring, mixing and baking. When my muffin tin was in the oven, I took a deep breathe realizing I did feel better. Playing in the kitchen always does this.

I think the muffins turned out pretty well for a first try. They are moist, dense and just lightly sweet. I like the smaller size muffin tin I used. These are just perfect for a morning snack along with a freshly made juice or smoothie.

Give them a try! Tell me what you think! Image

2 thoughts on “From tears to muffins

Leave a Reply

