Juicing My Way Through Grief

I drove past a funeral procession on my way home from work this afternoon. Instantaneously, I felt a wave of grief wash over me and I began to cry. I was completely powerless over my response. It just happened.  I know the raw pain that those people in the procession are experiencing; it took me right back. It is too fresh for me and still so painful.

Grief is an interesting emotion. At any given moment such as this, I find myself in such anguish and unbelievable sorrow.  In the past week or so my predominant and annoying grief emotion has been anxiety. This anxiety gives me butterfly tummy, makes me feel jittery, on edge because something has to be done, right?? I easily become irritable. I pace a lot. There is one serious storm that brews in my mind; a whirlpool of agitated thoughts keeping me from clear focus on nothing more complex than “just getting by”.  I’m sure I am not the only one with this feeling.  Some days doesn’t it seem like it takes every bit of energy you can muster to get out of bed and do your regular morning routines?  Right now it stops me and I must force myself toward tasks if I want anything accomplished. I find a mantra and push forward. Sometimes it’s as simple as “this will help you feel better”.

I’ve tried a number of over the counter supplements and homeopathic remedies for this anxiety with a great degree of success however, there are some days when my mind is weak, my body tired and emotions rule. I simply do the best I can and that is enough.

It is always easy enough for me to be mindful of what food goes in my body. Even in high stress times, I don’t often sway toward extremes. I do however tend to favor one food group which often leads to tummy unhappiness. In an effort to be more diverse and add beneficial nutrition to my diet I have been drinking juices and smoothies often.

Juicing is a pain. I’m just going to say it. It is messy. It’s time consuming. There is a lot of produce that goes in and very little comes out in comparison. With that said, this is one of those tasks where my mantra is useful. Because the kitchen is an easy and calming place for me, it doesn’t take long to soothe my scattered mind. 

When I drink fresh made juice it’s like mega vitamins zap my brain at lightening speed helping me to feel alert, alive, energetic  and yes, even anxiety free. In combination with my current supplements I have had a few less miserable days.

I expect that I will cope with grief for a while. I give myself room for those days when I just “get by” and I know that this too shall pass. I will help myself to feel rejuvenated by keeping a regular routine of juicing. The pros of this care taking technique far out way the cons. My goal is to feel better!

In whatever way you may need to feel better I encourage you to try juicing.  This juice is amazing. Drink a rainbow today!

IMG_1224 IMG_1228 (2)

What I used for this juice:

2 fuji apples

1 bartlett pear

2 mandrins

5 stalks of celery

4 medium carrots

1 english cucumber

2 red beets

5 kale leaves

large handful of mixed greens

small handful of parsley

push through juicer and enjoy immediately!!

3 thoughts on “Juicing My Way Through Grief

  1. I juice too, it’s a wonderful pick me up. At the risk of sounding like an informacial, I love my nutribullet! It’s so easy and nothing goes to waste!

    I totally understand your pain when it comes to grieving. There are good days and bad days, but things do get better with time!

    Like

  2. Loved the blog, grief is painful and a lot of us don’t have the courage to share our pain.

    I love juicing too! At the risk of sounding like an informacial, I love my nutribullet. It’s super easy to use and nothing goes to waste!

    Hang in there, things do get better with time.

    Like

    • Summer, thank you so much for reading my blog and offering support. I am so tempted by the nutribullet!! I have a breville juicer that my son left behind when he moved to NC and I am in love with it, however there is so much pulp to clean up and seems wasteful! I would love to find a way to waste less.

      Like

Leave a Reply

