All glutinous and spicy nice

My mom was an amazing baker. It was her forte. Many of my childhood memories are sprinkled with mom in the kitchen contentedly assembling ingredients for the continual supply of cookies that materialized in our cookie jar. Our home was the place most desired by the neighborhood kids. “Mrs. C” as she was called, would usually give in to their pleas and prodding by offering up a cookie with an “oh, I suppose.” She couldn’t resist. Secretly, she loved being the neighborhood “mom”.

I loved the days I walked in the door from school and knew that lovely aroma meant a jar full to the brim with fresh baked cookies. I remember the sound of the lid when I lifted it; a scratchy chalky sound as the ceramic lid moved against the top of the jar. It was definitely not the kind of cookie jar you could sneak into when mom wasn’t looking. I think she may have planned that!

I enjoy cooking food over baking treats. It’s so hard to get baked goods just right when using gluten free flours and I’m often disappointed. I have a few cookie and dessert recipes that I’ve perfected, but I rarely make them. However, today I decided to bake. Regular flour, butter and eggs kind of baking. There’s a bunch of my kind of “no-no’s in this recipe. Today is a special day. It is my younger brother’s birthday. Every year he asks our mom to make her yummy coconut topped spice cake for his birthday cake. Oh, I do remember the taste! It’s divine and the most delicious part is the topping. This year I wanted to continue this tradition for my brother and I want to honor my mom for the amazing person she was. She always granted our birthday food wishes we requested. I cannot think of a better gift for my brother. Well, there are the cool import beers I like to find for him, but that’s for a different blog. My mom was just too conservative with the topping so I made it extra thick because after all, that is the best part! It’s heavenly.

I asked my dad to take a picture of mom’s actual recipe and send it to me so I could attach it here, but instead I got her White Christmas Pie recipe. I’ll let you in on that wondrous dessert someday!  If you’d like to replicate Mrs. C’s spice cake dessert, the recipe is below. It was my mom’s favorite cake to make for any outing, potluck or special occasion. Indulge.Image

Mrs. C’s Spice Cake

1 1/2 cups boiling water

1 cup quick-cooking oats

1/2 cup softened butter

1 cup of white sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1/12 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

TOPPING:

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup butter

1 1/4 cup flaked coconut

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. in a small bowl, pour boiling water over oats; let stand for 5 minutes. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; add to the creamed mixture alternately with the oat mixture, beating well after each addition.
  2. Transfer to a greased 13 in.-9 in. baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  3. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, bring the brown sugar, butter and milk to a boil over medium heat. remove from the heat; stir in the coconut and vanilla. Pour over warm cake. Set under broiler for 4 minutes or until topping is lightly browned and the coconut is toasted.Cool completely. Serve. Enjoy.
  4. Yield: 12-16 servings
5 thoughts on “All glutinous and spicy nice

  1. While sadly, this would send me into a glutenized coma, my husband would abs love love love this! I will definitely be making this for him. Thank your for sharing your recipe and story. Your mom sounds like a very special lady.

    Like

  2. We did start asking for double topping, Sarah! She was kind enough to indulge us.
    Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting, DetoxMama! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I hope your husband loves this cake as much as my brother does!
    And yes, my mom was a very special lady. 🙂

    Like

  3. Love your cookie jar story as I vividly remember the over stuffed cookie jar ! And the Oatmeal Cake w/ that freaking awesome Coconut frosting ! DAMN GOOD ! I would always place my piece of Oatmeal Cake upside down so I could savor that mouth watering frosting !! Oh man and the White Christmas Pie …. clearly I have a thing for coconut ! Great blog, keep up the good work !

    Like

Leave a Reply

