Hello, How are you?

People say to me all the time, “How are you”? It’s a common courtesy shown among strangers, which I rather like about Portland in particular. We are a friendly city in this way.  When asked, I manage to muster a pat answer and move on about my business. The conversation that happens in my mind is more like this; “You know my mom just died.” How am I? I’m pretty devastated and I feel rather miserable.”

I am uncharacteristically low spirited these days. When those close to me ask me that same question, my response can be more honest. Really, most days I feel like I’m in a glass filled with murky water attempting to make sense of what I see around me. The world is moving so fast it makes my head spin and some days I want to simply stand in place as life rushes past in a feeble attempt to get my bearings.  I search for simplicity so I can calm my mind and soothe my anxieties.

One of my favorite things about making food is the single mindedness of the task. From preparation to the final result, there is one goal; to create something delicious. Through this process the storm of my thoughts become more tranquil and I begin to feel at peace.

While I find thorough pleasure in my comfort food indulgences, I appreciate when I recognize my body’s signal that commands me to lighten up. I can enjoy tossing a few ingredients together in minutes just as much as poring over a complex recipe that takes time and precision.

This lovely green smoothie serves multiple purposes. First off, it just tastes good. It is light in taste, made with a few simple ingredients and in just minutes I have a mason jar of healthy goodness to enjoy at the beginning of my day.

Of course, the New Year always reminds us to refresh ourselves and create new goals. I get a secret happy feeling as I put ingredients together I know are good quality to help reset my body and make me feel restored.

Imaginably, lightening my food intake and giving my body a refreshing cleanse will no doubt bring clarity to my mind and perhaps slow its spin cycle making way for anxiety to pass and allowing that lift in spirit I desire.

So cheers to “clean” food. I know that more joyful days lie ahead. I’ll keep this smoothie recipe handy to boost my spirit, clear my mind and facilitate healthy healing.

If you want to try this yourself, here’s what I added to make a fantastically delicious green smoothie:

2 cups of fresh baby spinach

2 cups of water

2 cups of frozen mango chunks, partially thawed

1 cup of frozen pineapple

1 banana, partially thawed

Add the spinach to the water in a blender, give it a few pulses until its smooth then add the remaining ingredients. Whirl away until its smooth. Pour into a container and refrigerate. Or, drink it right away!! Keeps in the fridg for about 3 days.

Enjoy!!!

Image

Leave a Reply

