Surrender

This New Year is starting different, that’s for sure. What a strange/sad feeling I had when I realized I would not have that celebratory phone call to my mom just after midnight on the 1st as I had done for so many years.

As I reflect on things past in 2013, it seems almost natural to express a formal intention to myself as I move forward into 2014. It’s been a good year overall; it just ended with a rattle and a bang, shocking me into next year!

With this comes chaos in my mind. Some days its hard to be calm and find perspective. I tell myself to relax! When life’s forces pull me in and push me around, my best tool of survival is the kitchen.

My common anxiety cure lies somewhere between vegetable chopping and the deep curry aroma of my simmering lentils. What emerges are not only dishes to satisfy the belly, but I find peace of mind. In the fluffing of quinoa and the whisking of what would become honey mustard dressing, I found that moment of surrender, a willingness to embrace the moment, letting go of the things I cannot control and finding acceptance.

My intention for 2014 is to appreciate life’s moments, be accepting and make happiness along the way. When I get a little knocked around, and we all do, I’ll nest in the kitchen for some culinary reprieve.

These delicious dishes I created are sure to make some happy moments in our household! Now, that’s good “therapy”!

Happy New Year to you all! May 2014 bring health to your body and peace to your mind. Eat well.

Image

4 thoughts on “Surrender

    • Thanks! It was all delicious! These are simple dishes to make that don’t have recipes, but I can tell you what they are. On the left is chicken basil sausages from New Seasons with wilted kale…just fry it up in a pan! Top middle picture is lentils. I sauteed diced yellow onions & garlic till translucent then added dry lentils & enough water to cover them. Let them cook on simmer (about an hour) then added curry, turmeric & parsley when the lentils were soft. They are done when the liquid is absorbed. The bottom right dish is quinoa. 2 c water, 1 c quinoa. Simmer until liquid is absorbed. Eat & enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

